Magistrates' Courts (R.S.S. 1953, c. 104).—Magistrates are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. There are eight full-time and eight part-time magistrates. The magistrates exercise criminal jurisdiction and are ex officio justices of the peace and accordingly have the jurisdiction of a justice of the peace in civil cases.

Justices of the Peace (R.S.S. 1953, c. 105).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council and, in addition to limited criminal jurisdiction, have jurisdiction in civil cases up to \$100.

Alberta.—Supreme Court (R.S.A. 1942, c. 129).—The Supreme Court of Alberta consists of two branches or divisions; one is designated the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of Alberta and the other is designated the Trial Division of the Supreme Court of Alberta. The Appellate Division consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Alberta, and four other judges. The Trial Division consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of the Trial Division, and five other judges. All judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Appellate Division exercises general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province and the Trial Division has unlimited original jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters.

District Courts (R.S.A. 1942, c. 121).—There are two district court districts in Alberta, namely, the District of Northern Alberta and the District of Southern Alberta, each with a district court. The Court of the District of Northern Alberta consists of a chief judge and five other judges and the Court of the District of Southern Alberta consists of a chief judge and four other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The district courts, generally, have jurisdiction in all cases where the claim does not exceed \$1,000 and in criminal, probate and guardianship matters.

Juvenile Courts (S.A. 1944, c. 8).—The Child Welfare Act provides for the establishment of a Juvenile Court and every judge of the Supreme Court, every judge of a district court and every police magistrate is ex officio a judge thereof. In addition, the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may appoint other persons to be judges of the juvenile courts; 11 such judges have been appointed. A juvenile court has jurisdiction to hear and determine offences charged against children under any statute of the Province and, in addition, is a juvenile court for the purposes of the federal Juvenile Delinquents Act.

Family Courts (S.A. 1952, c. 32).—The Lieutenant-Governor in Council, by order, may establish a Family Court in any municipality or area within the Province and may appoint, under the provisions of the Magistrates and Justices Act, one or more police magistrates as judges of such court.

Police Magistrates (R.S.A. 1942, c. 134).—Police magistrates have criminal jurisdiction and also jurisdiction in actions for debt not exceeding \$100 and wage claims not exceeding six months wages. One hundred and eighteen police magistrates have been appointed.

Justices of the Peace (R.S.A. 1942, c. 134).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction. Two hundred and sixty-one justices of the peace have been appointed.